Latin America's Two Trade Blocs Get a Little Closer

Nov 14, 2017 | 09:00 GMT
Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru, which all border the Pacific Ocean, make up the Pacific Alliance trade bloc.

The Pacific Alliance is composed of Mexico, Peru, Chile and Colombia, whose gross domestic products total over $2.2 trillion and have a combined population of over 220 million.


Latin America's two largest trade blocs, the Common Market of the South (Mercosur) and the Pacific Alliance, are taking small steps on the path to convergence. The fall of the left in Mercosur's two largest economies, Argentina and Brazil, and the U.S. decision to renegotiate NAFTA with Mexico have provided the two organizations with an opportunity to put aside their differences and move forward on trade negotiations....

Article Search

Copyright © Stratfor Enterprises, LLC. All rights reserved.

Stratfor Worldview


To empower members to confidently understand and navigate a continuously changing and complex global environment.