situation report

India: New Delhi Formally Divides Jammu and Kashmir Into 2 Territories

1 MIN READOct 31, 2019 | 16:02 GMT

What Happened: The Indian government has officially split the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two new centrally administered territories, the BBC reported Oct. 31.

Why It Matters: The step marks the conclusion of the Indian government's decision on Aug. 5 to revoke the constitutional autonomy of Jammu and Kashmir, which has been at the center of a decadeslong conflict with Pakistan. As part of the decision, New Delhi enforced a lockdown in the region, imposed a ban on protests and disabled phone and internet access.

Background: India and Pakistan each administer a portion of Kashmir, but both countries claim full control over the region. Since 1989, Islamabad has tacitly supported insurgents in their bid to win autonomy from New Delhi in Indian-controlled Kashmir.

Read More:

Connected Content

Regions & Countries

Article Search

Copyright © Stratfor Enterprises, LLC. All rights reserved.

Stratfor Worldview


To empower members to confidently understand and navigate a continuously changing and complex global environment.